Author Topic: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***  (Read 5110 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8368
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
*** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« on: August 14, 2011, 02:57:30 PM »
We are aware that many people cannot load characters at the moment.

We were forced to switch to the new Armory community API, as Blizzard announced that they would be banning sites that used the old approach that we were using.

Things went well, and we registered with Blizzard as a high-traffic site.

Well... they banned us anyway for sending too much traffic to the Armory.


We are working to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.  This will affect both users of the website and the mobile apps.
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8368
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 11:31:18 PM »
The website should be functioning again.  The mobile app should be functioning again sometime today (Monday 8/15).  I'm not sure when the new armory API resets its daily quota.
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8368
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 12:52:05 PM »
We posted another update that should resolve issues that people are having with loading characters on the mobile app.  Let us know if you continue to have any trouble.
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

jykllbro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2011, 06:59:21 PM »
I can't reload jekbrother on blades edge

Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2011, 12:23:23 AM »
I can't load all my characters on arak-arahm with the web site.

Revulva

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5729
  • Karma: 152
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2011, 05:17:36 AM »
I was able to load Jekbrother with no problems. Try this link:
http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/usa/blade%27s_edge/jekbrother#v1-o41361K2240

Z

Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2011, 08:47:40 AM »
It's Z

Monjaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2011, 01:31:23 PM »
Tried loading/reloading my character, and wont update. Too many to name, but the main two Selzie and Krozar both EU Hellfire

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8368
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2011, 03:03:46 PM »
I can load Krozar just fine:

http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/eu/hellfire/krozar#v1


Zephiral -- we'll fix the issue with your characters, it is a problem with the realm name arak-arahm.  Our code is accidentally removing the hyphen, which is screwing things up when it tries to load.
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

Fayrie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2011, 07:56:44 PM »
Hey, I can't seem to reload Dannihunter and Fayrie from Twilights Hammer, EU.

 

Revulva

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5729
  • Karma: 152
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2011, 08:01:15 PM »
You have to use the apostrophe in the realm name: Twilight's Hammer. Some people have been using a different character on accident, like: `

http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/eu/twilight%27s_hammer/dannihunter#v1

Loads up just fine.

Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2011, 10:17:11 PM »

Zephiral -- we'll fix the issue with your characters, it is a problem with the realm name arak-arahm.  Our code is accidentally removing the hyphen, which is screwing things up when it tries to load.

ok thank you

sebio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Confederation Wol
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2011, 11:59:22 PM »
Hi, i reload my char in wow-eu-suramar and it's not possible. "Error Loading Character" "The Armory returned the following error:

Request timed out: this usually means that the specified character does not exist. Check that you have entered the correct region, realm, and name.

Please contact Mr. Robot's technical support if you are unable to resolve this issue."

it's same for all member in wow/gear/eu/suramar

http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/eu/suramar/sebio
http://www.askmrrobot.com/wow/gear/eu/suramar/Drag

Fayrie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2011, 12:09:16 AM »
Thank you very much, your awesome!  ;D

shaani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: *** ANNOUNCEMENT: Cannot Load Character ***
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2011, 02:31:46 AM »
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 02:34:38 AM by shaani »