Author Topic: Armory Loading - temporary problem  (Read 2766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Revulva

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5733
  • Karma: 152
    • View Profile
Armory Loading - temporary problem
« on: February 09, 2011, 08:26:23 AM »
Currently the site cannot make requests to the Armory. We got locked out due to high traffic. We are going to update our code to try to avoid having this problem again, but it might be 24 hours until the armory lets Mr. Robot back in.

Most items are cached, and if you have already loaded a character once, it might also still be cached. So, the site is still usable, just not 100% usable. Sorry for the inconvenience, blizzard offers no information on how much traffic it will allow to the armory, so we have to just guess and test until we get it right.


Revulva

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5733
  • Karma: 152
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 11:04:56 AM »
Just to let everyone know... our site uses both the battle.net armory pages and the old armory xml feeds. It appears we are only locked out of the old armory. Right now we are working on a solution that will only use the battle.net armory, since we seem to have unlimited access to that one. Hopefully in a few hours we can update the site and never have armory loading problems again! (unless the armory is down, of course!)

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 01:12:36 PM »
We're close to a fix for this problem (shifting totally to using the new armory, battle.net).

Unfortunately it seems that battle.net is unavailable at the moment from anywhere... anyone else having trouble loading their character's battle.net page right now?
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

Jerenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2011, 01:14:43 PM »
Just checked, I got to mine ok.

Almightree

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2011, 01:32:19 PM »
Mine is working as well. Other than not being able to optimize my current gear, I can already tell that this is going to be a useful tool for me and all of my guild members to use. Thanks a million.  :)

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2011, 01:45:24 PM »
Must have been a temporary glitch... seems I can get to everything again.  Thanks for checking!
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

Eisritter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2011, 02:17:13 PM »
The armory error is still occurring, I get it on multiple characters and servers.

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2011, 02:18:29 PM »
Yes -- still working on the error on the mr. robot site, was just wondering if battle.net itself was having trouble.
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

Eisritter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2011, 02:22:17 PM »
Yellow-

battle.net is up just pulled my character from armory

Airen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2011, 03:04:47 PM »
Hi first post here.  Just wanted to inform you that it's still not pulling my char off the armory.

Devloc

  • Mr. Robot Human Resource
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2586
  • Karma: 41
  • aka Vijari of Spinebreaker
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2011, 03:16:37 PM »
It's not that Armory is down, it's that Mr. Robot is currently blocked from Armory as there have been too many requests thanks to the increased amount of traffic.  I'm also betting that 4.0.6 and the need to flush Mr. Robot's cache didn't help matters.

Anyone remember the days of be.imba, warcrafter, wow-heroes, etc?  Those sites regularly were down due to the large amount of requests to the Armory they made.  As Team Robot figures things out I'm sure it'll get a heck of a lot smoother.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2011, 03:19:51 PM by Devloc »
"QUIET!  I'M TRYING TO SNEAK UP ON THEM!"

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2011, 03:22:01 PM »
Armory loading is working again!

Latest changes:
http://forums.askmrrobot.com/index.php?topic=743.msg10051#msg10051
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook

Deathimaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2011, 03:54:47 PM »
Receiving this error when attempting to load my character from the armory

System.ArgumentException: Requested value 'Death Knight' was not found. at System.Enum.TryParseEnum(Type enumType, String value, Boolean ignoreCase, EnumResult& parseResult) at TeamRobot.Utility.Enum.Parse[T](String Name) in E:\TeamRobot\trunk\dotnet\TeamRobot\Utility.cs:line 49 at TeamRobot.Wow.Armory.ArmoryDataClient.CreateCharacterDescriptorFromHtml(XElement page, WowRegions region, Action`1 callback) in E:\TeamRobot\trunk\dotnet\TeamRobot.Wow.Armory\ArmoryDataClient.cs:line 174 at TeamRobot.Wow.Armory.ArmoryDataClient.<>c__DisplayClass4.b__0(SimpleAsyncCompletedEventArgs`1 args) in E:\TeamRobot\trunk\dotnet\TeamRobot.Wow.Armory\ArmoryDataClient.cs:line 108

Airen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2011, 03:55:34 PM »
Confirmed.  I can now pull my character's data off the new armory.  Thanks! :D

yellowfive

  • Mr. Robot's Drinking Buddy
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8372
  • Karma: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Armory Loading - temporary problem
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2011, 04:56:53 PM »
Mr. Robot is on: Twitter and Facebook