How to remove old characters from addon memory?


#1

Hi!

My problem currently is that I server transferred a lot of my characters around a couple of months back and today I finally noticed the shopping list menu in the addon, but I’m currently pretty much unable to use it the way I would want to, because the dropdown list continues way below the edge of my screen as it is populated by dozens of characters from servers I no longer play on.

How can I remove the old characters from the addon memory?
I no longer have those characters in the ‘recent characters’ list on the browser site, so I’m pretty sure that it is not picking them up from there.


#2

What you may find is also the case is that each spec. of each character is a separate ‘page’ (item) on the drop-down you refer to… may be worth a revisit to confirm which is the case for you.

Aside from that, a ‘wipe’ of the saved variables - /WoW folder/retail*//Saved Variables (not sure on precise path for AMR only SV) - may be what you’re looking for…
*don’t forget the underscores

Hope that helps.


#3

Nope, I currently only have characters on one server and it is showing characters from a total of 5 others as well.

But thanks for the other info, I’ll look into that :slight_smile:


#4

Yeah I don’t have a way to remove characters from the shopping list right now… I can put it on a list of things to add.

For now yeah, you could go into:

C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WTF\Account\[your account name]\SavedVariables\AskMrRobot.lua

Open it with any text editor program, and search for the string ["Shopping2"] (exactly like that with the brackets and quotes included). Under that you should see several sections like:

["Player-Server"] = {
    ["setups"] = {
        ["Frost"] = { 
            ... stuff ...
        },
        ... more stuff ...
        ["Blood Raid"] = {
        },
        ["Unholy M+"] = {
        },
    },
},

You can delete that whole section for a player you don’t want to see anymore. Make sure to do this while WoW is completely closed, then start up the game again.